RSS

Pattern Planning – Vogue 8635

05 Jun

I’ve got quite a few patterns I’d like to make up at this point… now it’s just a matter of plotting out what I want in the fabric for them, deciding how much I can afford, and then seeing what I can find. I don’t have much in the way of a stash yet, and I don’t really plan to because of the whole tiny house thing!

Here’s an upcoming project that I’ve already bought fabric for.

vogue 8635

vogue 8635

I bought 2 yards of black cotton interlock and 1 yard of purple interlock. This will be my first project working with knits and I’m a little nervous about it (see: no serger). I’ll just do what the books tell me to do and cross my fingers!

Now that I’ve bought the fabric, I’m kind of kicking myself for it… I didn’t realize how expensive I was making this project! Luckily, I got the pattern on sale for $5, or I would really be upset! I got the fabric at JoAnn’s but the interlock is $10 a yard y’all… ridiculous! At least to me… that means that this shirt is going to cost $30 ($35 if I only make it once!), even after all the discounts.  Holy cow! Where does the money saving come into play??

I like black and purple, but jeeze!

File this one under: Rookie Mistakes.

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 5, 2011 in Frugal, musings, planning, Rookie Mistakes

 

2 responses to “Pattern Planning – Vogue 8635

  1. Sue M

    June 5, 2011 at 6:19 pm

    It’s true–those vintage thrifty housekeeping books that tell you that you can save money by sewing your own clothes–not in this day and age!
    You could try Value Village, Salvation Army and St. Vincent de Paul for cheap fabric–I often buy sheets for the sheer yardage they afford. You might be able to find some tshirt sheets or skirts or dresses in funny sizes or styles to get you the material you want at a fraction of the cost. Try the larger sizes or the maternity section! I’ve found some really nice wool and silk that way.

     
    • kathleen

      June 8, 2011 at 7:22 pm

      This is a great idea.. thanks Sue!

       

Leave a Reply

 
