RSS

Welcome to my sewing lab!

05 Jun

I’m a newbie seamstress, learning how to sew my own clothes. I’m tired of being forced to wear only knits and polyester as a big gal, and I’m not going to take it anymore! My ultimate goal is to make some of the beautifully tailored outfits from the 40s… I have a whole stash of screencaps from films!

Here’s what I know I need to learn:

  • Grading patterns (who decided what I’m allowed to wear?)
  • Pockets (scary!)
  • Zippers (I can do it, but just barely)
  • Pattern making
  • Buttons (aaaaack!)
  • Darts (I kind of suck at these)
  • Finished seams (I kind of make these up as I go along)
  • Collars & Jabots (love the look, have no idea how to make)
  • Finicky fabrics (especially jersey and silk)
  • Linings
  • Probably a whole lot more!
 Read along with me as I learn to sew my own wardrobe. Photos, videos, and inspiration outfits with my attempts at re-creation will be included! Thanks for reading!
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 5, 2011 in musings, new skills

 

Leave a Reply

 
