RSS

A common thread…

11 Oct

20111011-060931.jpg

Last week, I visited the cutest little sewing shop here in Austin, Common Thread.

One of my favorite things about the store is that it seems to primarily cater to apparel sewists, which is a refreshing change! A few years ago, I had been so excited to visit a little fabric store that had popped up on SoCo, but was bitterly disappointed when I found it to be mostly craft and handbag textiles. Since I’m not big on patterns, the mismatch was very large!

But Common Thread had very little craft fabric and was almost exclusively high quality fashion fabrics. They even had cotton gauze in two colors and patterns! I didn’t even know that gauze could be made out of cotton!

I found some beautiful voile (post coming) and trimmings, and also some remnants of a gorgeous black linen, and also some cotton/bamboo fabric for pretty cheap. I was actually shopping for the voile/batiste because I wanted to make some edwardian night gowns and chemises, and I did check prices online before we went, because I still don’t know what things should cost. I was pleasantly surprised that the voile I found was a little cheaper than it would have been online — lots if you count shipping and disregard sales tax (which I do)!

We also got the supplies and instructions on how to make this knit and lace green and black top… I love it! It was my first time working with either of those fabrics, and it was so much fun!

20110930-092526.jpg

Isn’t it darling! One of their customers came up with the design and left instructions at the shop!

Notice I said “we” above… Because Mister came with me. Common Thread is where he started thinking about sewing a shirt. He looked at their fabrics a while, then decided he’d make a muslin first! But he did buy his shirt pattern there!

All in all, we’ll definitely be back.

If you want to read more about the shop, check out this lengthy article from our local Indy paper, The Austin Chronicle.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 11, 2011 in creations, Field Trip

 

Leave a Reply

 
